Family Order

1 Samuel 3:13 New Living Translation (NLT)

13 I have warned him that judgment is coming upon his family forever, because his sons are blaspheming God[a] and he hasn’t disciplined them.

“Don’t let your desire to do God’s work cause you to neglect your family. If you do, your mission may degenerate into a quest for personal importance & your family will suffer the consequences of your neglect.” –Study Bible

If the enemy can’t stop us from accepting Jesus as Lord and Savior, he will stop at nothing to high jack God’s purposes for our lives- especially if they include a spouse & children.Unfortunately, I have often fallen prey to the enemy’s deception…. and re-ordered God’s plans based on how I feel- or how others treat me in regards to them.

My 1st call? God

Jeremiah 1:5 New Living Translation (NLT)

“I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb.
Before you were born I set you apart…”

Luke 10:27 New Living Translation (NLT)

27 The man answered, “‘You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind.’

God chose me to be His child- before I was even born. He sent His son to die in my place so that I could spend eternity with Him. My response is to love and obey Him. THAT is my life’s purpose- all the rest of my callings are an extension of this one.

My 2nd call? Doug

Genesis 2:24 New International Version (NIV)

24 That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.

Ephesians 5:22 New International Version (NIV)

22 Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord.

After God, my relationship with my husband is my most important. In order to be and remain ONE, Doug and I must be- & stay connected spiritually, emotionally & physically. When rightly ordered, my marriage is a beautiful example of Christ giving himself up for the church and the church submitting their will to the Father, just as Jesus did.

 My 3rd call? Our children 

Proverbs 22:6 New Living Translation (NLT)

Direct your children onto the right path,
and when they are older, they will not leave it.

This is a difficult one to keep in order for most mom’s. After all, we are the ones who carry these children for 9 months, deliver them, nurse them, spend every waking (& sometimes sleeping!) moment taking care of their every need- and, depending on how the husband/wife roles in the home function, spend a majority of the time training them. I haven’t always gotten this one right, but years ago God corrected me—the family order is: Him, my husband….then our children. Don’t misunderstand me, I love our children – and would give my life for them (in fact, the majority of my days are spent serving them), but my love for my husband is far deeper, far greater, far more powerful than it ever will be for our children. For one day, they too shall leave and cleave…and it will just be he and I, again.

 My 4th call? Home-school

For those of you who know me, you’ve heard me say that I RAN from this one as long as I could! I did NOT want to homeschool our children. But, once I finally submitted to the call, I realized that this call  is just a re-enforcement of the previous one: to train our children in truth, wisdom AND knowledge. Our desire is make Bullard Pack disciples and to help them identify God’s call on their lives-encouraging them to run after God with all their heart, soul, mind and strength.

 My 5th call? Married Couples

Matthew 28:19 New Living Translation (NLT)

19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations,[a] baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit.

God has called Doug & I to be transparent with other couples about our failures- and successes. We are to speak God’s truth to them and show them how to apply that truth to their lives, marriages, parenting, etc. Serving the couples God sends to us is an extremely rewarding journey. But, if we aren’t careful, the enemy will use “ministry” to steal our time with God, each other and our children. Again, we have to continual be reminded that God is a God of order- not chaos! “Ministry” is also an area where pride can easily emerge, since others- outside our family tend to praise us in our “accomplishments” more frequently. As with all praise, however- we must quickly give credit where credit is due- to the ONE who gave us the ability.

When I die & stand before my Creator, I do not want to hear, as Eli did, that I neglected my family and the order of His call on my life. Instead, I long to hear “well done, good and faithful servant……..you have run the race (in the lane I put you in)…………you have loved your neighbors (in the order I placed them in; Doug, your children, others)….and you’ve made disciples, baptizing them in My name. Come- worship Me for all eternity and I will reward you for your faithfulness to my call.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

