Thief

John 10:10

10 The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

During a recent trip to Lowe’s Home Improvement, I decided to buy a new bird feeder to replace our broken hummingbird feeder. While looking through the various designs, our son offered a bit of wisdom “Mom, you need to get that cone thing like Mema & Papa’s so the squirrels don’t eat the food!” “Nah,” I replied “we don’t need that…I’ll just hang it somewhere they can’t get to.”

Lesson #1: Don’t ignore a warning

Yesterday morning, as I gazed out our kitchen window I watched in horror as an obese squirrel hung upside down from the branch of our dogwood tree, eating all the bird seed out of our new feeder!!! “UHHHH!” I yelled. “That dang squirrel has stolen all the food!” Maguire confidently replied “I told ya Mom…you need that cone thing. I already scared ‘em off 3 times this morning.”

Lesson #2: Don’t be naïve to think that you can avoid a thief

After Doug went out and chased that pesky squirrel away, he didn’t come back for quite a while. In his absence, the hungry little birds, whom the feeder was intended, darted back and forth for a few nibbles of food. Eventually, however, their enemy returned. By the time he was finished stealing all the seed, his belly was so full he could barely climb down the tree!

Lesson #3: You can’t chase an enemy away a handful of times and think he’ll stay gone

After watching the scenario between the squirrel and the birds unfold before me, the Holy Spirit whispered “this is exactly how the enemy works in your life.” My loving Father provides me with all the seed I need to sustain not only my physical body, but my soul and spirit as well. All I have to do is flap my little wings over to His feeder and gulp Him in through worship, prayer, bible study, etc…and I have a rich and satisfying life. BUT, if I make the mistake of ignoring His warnings about the enemy I open myself up to being robbed. Then, if I choose to pretend he’ll leave me alone, He’ll take even more from me. If I finally face my fears and boldly stand up to him, he’ll flee…but he won’t stay gone for long. For his sole purpose is to steal, kill and destroy my life because he hates the One who feeds me.

1 Peter 5:8

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.

Thankfully, all I need to do is return to the feeder for strength to fight my great enemy- for the battle is the Lords…and HE will save me from every attack.

2 Timothy 4:18

18 Yes, and the Lord will deliver me from every evil attack and will bring me safely into his heavenly Kingdom. All glory to God forever and ever! Amen.

One thought on “Thief

Leave a Reply

