Way of Escape

1 Corinthians 10:12-13

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

12 Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed that he does not fall. 13 No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.

IMG_4402During a recent flight into Charlotte Douglas International Airport, I peered out the window as our Airbus A 320 was hovering over the tarmac, preparing to land. Moments later, however, my husband and I, along with the one hundred and forty eight other passengers were thrust back into our seats as the pilot revved the engines and ascended back into the sky. A few thousand feet later, a voice came over the intercom: “ladies and gentlemen, we’re sorry for the delay. We were forced to abort the landing because another aircraft was taking its time getting off the runway. We’ll be on the ground shortly.”

After thanking God for holding us and that plane in the palm of His hand, I began recalling all the times I’ve hovered over sin, not consciously knowing that if I chose to land in it, death would be imminent. Maybe not a physical death mind you, but perhaps an emotional death and most certainly, a spiritual one.

The temptations in my life are no different than what others have experienced….so why is it that my ability to stand sometimes seems much more difficult?

Just as we are all uniquely and wonderfully made by our Creator, we are born into unique and wonderful families that receive His blessings for thousands of generations and, as a result of sin, curses for several generations.

Exodus 20:5-6

New Living Translation (NLT)

You must not bow down to them or worship them, for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God who will not tolerate your affection for any other gods. I lay the sins of the parents upon their children; the entire family is affected—even children in the third and fourth generations of those who reject me. But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those[a] who love me and obey my commands.

Although God’s punishment of our ancestors sin may seem unjust and unfair- the Lord in His unfailing love and mercy always offers a life saving solution. When we choose to humble ourselves before His throne and confess ours and yes, even our families sin and repent for our disobedience, He is faithful to forgive.

1 John 1:9

New Living Translation (NLT)

But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness.

When the wickedness is gone, we are better able to endure hovering over the tarmac of temptation. By depending on the powerful engine of the Holy Spirit, we can avoid landing on the thief’s runway, depriving him of the opportunity to steal, kill and destroy us. Instead, we can rest safely in our first class seat, knowing that our Savior promises to give us a way of escape….. and a satisfying flight.

John 10:7-10

New Living Translation (NLT)

so he explained it to them: “I tell you the truth, I am the gate for the sheep. All who came before me[a] were thieves and robbers. But the true sheep did not listen to them. Yes, I am the gate. Those who come in through me will be saved.[b] They will come and go freely and will find good pastures. 10 The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy. My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.

Leave a Reply

