In Private

Matthew 6:1-4

“Watch out! Don’t do your good deeds publicly, to be admired by others, for you will lose the reward from your Father in heaven. When you give to someone in need, don’t do as the hypocrites do—blowing trumpets in the synagogues and streets to call attention to their acts of charity! I tell you the truth, they have received all the reward they will ever get. But when you give to someone in need, don’t let your left hand know what your right hand is doing. Give your gifts in private, and your Father, who sees everything, will reward you.

The other day, as I was scrubbing the master bath sink, cleaning up toys in the living room, sweeping the kitchen floor and doing yet another load of laundry for our family I wondered “how many times have my good deeds gone unnoticed in this house?” In which the Holy Spirit quickly replied “your Father sees everything you do in private….”

But, oh…how great it feels to do the deeds publically. To serve others with my spiritual gifts and have them respond with gratitude and praise! Blowing my own trumpet feeds my flesh – look what I did for that person in need. How charitable I am. God used ME to pray in unknown languages, discern a spirit, give a word of knowledge, or prophesy. I should receive a reward.

What a hypocrite.

IMG_5709As I talked with my husband about this latest revelation I acknowledged how hard my soul sometimes battles to be a submitted wife and loving mom. They are roles that, when fulfilled the way God intended, require me to be selfless, self-sacrificing and humble….every moment, of every day. Yet, when I constantly surrender my will to the Father, He not only gives me the fruit of His Spirit to love and serve my family, He gives me the gifts of His Spirit to help them when they are in need. And often, one of the rewards He blesses me with is a deeper, more fulfilling relationship with my groom and all four of our children.

He is El Roi, the God who sees me…and sees EVERY thing I do in private – and public. He is the God who loves me and forgives me. He is my greatest reward.

Leave a Reply

